Engineering Excellence



History of Engineering Excellence Competitions

In coordination with our national affiliate, ACEC, the American Council of Engineering Companies of Missouri (ACEC/MO)holds an annual project competition. Our goal is to recognize the quality engineering design that member firms can produce and tell our membership and the public about this engineering quality design.

We adopt the rules for entry that are annually dictated by ACEC, except that we require only notebooks for judging. Our state deadline for project entries is in mid October, with judging in mid-November. Projects winners going on to the national competition are required to complete a panel to illustrated the projects unique features and have a deadline of early January.

A panel of judges for the ACEC/MO competition is chosen from outside the membership to carefully consider the entries. Judges are carefully considered and selected from various sectors including construction, education, architecture, government and media.

Our annual awards banquet highlighting the state winners is in February either in St. Louis, Kansas City or Columbia. The ACEC award banquet is held in April in Washington, D.C.


Panel of Judges

Mr. Dennis Bouse
Senior Mgr., Transmission Line & Civil Design – Ameren Services

Mr. Leonard Kirberg
Retired – ACEC/MO Past Chairman

Ms. Mary Lamie
Executive Director – St. Louis Regional Freightway

Mr. Phil Hocher
President – Pace Construction

Mr. Guy Phillips
“The Phillips and Co. Morning Show” – CBS Radio Y98

Ms. Susan Pruchnicki, FAIA
Principal – Bond Architects, Inc.

Mr. Steven S. Sobo, PE, FMP, SFP
Director, Capital Projects – Washington University

2016-17 Engineering Excellence Committee

Jason Dohrmann, Chair, HR Green, Inc.
Marc Alper, Alper Audi, Inc.
Ozzy Bravo, Terracon Consultants, Inc.
Buddy Desai, CH2M Hill, Inc.
Rod Lacy, Burns & McDonnell
Dan Meckes, Crawford, Murphy & Tilly, Inc.
Mel Millenbruck, Faith Group, LLC
Mike Odrowski, CDM Smith
Raymond Okuagu, Premier Engineering Consultants, LLC
Andrew Potthast, HNTB Corporation
Tom Raztki, Black & Veatch
Jon Robison, GeoEngineers, Inc.
Renee Ross, Jacobs Engineering Group Inc.
Steve Schultz, Bartlett & West, Inc.
Mike Spayd, Garver
Janet Strickland, AECOM